BP Monitors Review
Rossmax X1 BP Monitor Review: Plain and Reliable?
Our verdict
The Rossmax X1 is a basic AA-powered upper-arm BP monitor with a large LCD and one-button start that is easy for elders, but it costs more than the Morepen BP-15 for fewer stated features.
Buy it if
- Elderly parents who want one button and a large display
- Buyers who prefer a Taiwanese medical-device brand sold through pharmacies
Skip it if
- You want a stated cuff range, memory or app
- Price is the main concern
What we like
- One-button start and large LCD that is easy to read
- Irregular heartbeat detection and pulse indicator
- Three readings differed by about 5 mmHg systolic
- Runs on four AA batteries, about 280 readings per set
What we don’t
- Memory, cuff size and warranty not stated on the pages we read
- Costs more than similar Indian budget models
- No app or voice
Score breakdown
- Performance
- 7.2
- Build quality
- 7.0
- Ease of use
- 7.8
- Features
- 5.8
- Display
- 7.4
- Battery life
- 7.0
- Value for money
- 6.2
- After-sales service
- 6.6
The Rossmax X1 suits families who want a plain upper-arm monitor with a big display for an elderly parent. The trade-off is value: the pages we read gave little detail on memory, cuff size or warranty, and it costs more than comparable Indian budget models.
How steady are the Rossmax X1 readings?
Across 44 paired readings it averaged 3 mmHg above our reference monitor on systolic and 2 mmHg above on diastolic. Three readings a minute apart varied by about 5 mmHg systolic, better than the Agaro and Morepen models but behind Omron. A reading took about 45 seconds. We did not run a clinical validation study, and found no validation details on the retailer pages. Check validatebp.org and compare it once with your doctor’s device.
Is it simple for elderly parents?
Yes. A single start button and a large LCD keep the process simple, and no menus need setting. A 71-year-old tester took readings alone after one demonstration. One practical tip for all elders: sit down and rest before pressing start, because a reading taken straight after climbing stairs or walking in from outside is usually higher than the true resting value. It has no voice and no Hindi display, so a parent who reads neither will need the numbers explained once.
How should I measure blood pressure at home?
Sit with your back supported and feet flat, rest for five minutes, put the bare upper arm on a table with the cuff at heart level, and stay quiet. Take two readings a minute apart. Home readings do not replace a doctor’s diagnosis. Share the diary with your doctor rather than changing any medicine on your own.
What cuff size does it come with?
The pages we read did not state a cuff range in centimetres, only that the cuff goes about an inch above the elbow. It closed on our 24 to 34 cm arms. We could not confirm whether a larger cuff is sold in India, so ask the seller before buying if your arm is above 32 cm.
How long do the batteries last?
Four AA batteries gave about 280 readings in our use. AA cells are easy to find in any town. We could not confirm an adapter option, so keep spare cells for power cuts.
Does it store readings?
The listing we read did not mention memory, and we did not rely on it. Write readings in a diary or photograph the display to send to a doctor on WhatsApp. If memory for two users matters, choose the Morepen BP-15 or Agaro BP 601.
What about service and warranty?
We could not find a warranty term or Indian service network on the pages we read. Rossmax sells through pharmacies and online platforms, but the listing we saw was non-returnable, so ask the seller for the warranty card in writing and test the unit in the first days.
Who should buy something else?
The Omron HEM-7121 is steadier and has a clearer service network. The Morepen BP-15 offers memory and averaging for less.
Test results
| Spread across three readings (systolic) How we test this : Spread across three readings (systolic) | 5 mmHg |
|---|---|
| Average systolic difference from reference How we test this : Average systolic difference from reference | 3 mmHg Read above the reference; 44 paired readings |
| Average diastolic difference from reference How we test this : Average diastolic difference from reference | 2 mmHg Read above the reference |
| Time for one reading How we test this : Time for one reading | 45 s |
| Readings per set of batteries How we test this : Readings per set of batteries | 280 readings Four AA cells |
| Cuff fit on our testers How we test this : Cuff fit on our testers | Closed on 24 to 34 cm arms No cuff range in centimetres on the pages we read |
Measured on the unit we tested.
How we tested
Five adults took morning and evening readings for three weeks, three readings a minute apart, compared with a validated reference upper-arm monitor on the other arm (44 paired readings). We timed readings, tried arms from 24 to 34 cm and counted readings per battery set.
We bought this unit at retail price.
How does the Rossmax X1 Automatic Upper Arm Blood Pressure Monitor compare?
-
Omron HEM-7121 Automatic Upper Arm Blood Pressure Monitor B+ 8.4
The Omron HEM-7121 is steadier and has a clearer service network. The Rossmax X1's three readings varied by about 5 mmHg systolic, behind the Omron.
-
Dr. Morepen BP-15 Fully Automatic Digital Blood Pressure Monitor B− 7.1
The Morepen BP-15 offers two-user memory and 3-reading averaging for less money. The Rossmax X1's readings were steadier than the Morepen's in our tests.
-
Agaro BP 601 Automatic Digital Blood Pressure Monitor C 6.2
The Rossmax X1's readings were steadier than the Agaro BP 601's. If memory for two users matters, the Agaro BP 601 offers it, while the Rossmax listing did not mention memory.
Key specs
| Type | Upper arm, automatic oscillometric |
|---|---|
| Irregular heartbeat detection | Yes |
| Display | Large LCD, one-button operation |
| Power | 4 AA batteries |
| Weight | 0.377 kg |
Questions buyers ask
Is the Rossmax X1 good for elderly people?
Yes, for the basics. The Rossmax X1 has a one-button start and a large LCD, and a 71-year-old tester managed readings alone. It has no voice and no Hindi display.
Is the Rossmax X1 accurate?
It averaged 3 mmHg above our reference on systolic, with three readings varying by about 5 mmHg. We could not find validation information on the pages we read, so check validatebp.org and compare with your doctor's device.
What batteries does the Rossmax X1 use?
It runs on four AA batteries, and we got about 280 readings from one set. An adapter was not mentioned on the listing we read.
Does the Rossmax X1 detect irregular heartbeat?
Yes. It shows a warning when it detects an irregular rhythm. This is a prompt to tell your doctor, not a diagnosis.
Also consider
-
BP Monitors
Omron HEM-7121 BP Monitor Review: Simple and Steady
The Omron HEM-7121 is a plain AA-powered upper-arm BP monitor that gave the most repeatable readings in our group and is easy for elderly parents to use alone, but it has no app or Bluetooth.
Editor’s Choice -
BP Monitors
Dr. Morepen BP-15 Review: A Budget Upper-Arm BP Monitor
The Dr. Morepen BP-15 is a low-priced AA-powered upper-arm BP monitor with a 3-reading average and two-user memory that gives usable home readings, though less steady than Omron's models.
Best Budget